<< All News Thursday, September 8, 2016 Categories:

Fargo, N.D., Sept. 8 – Gov. Dalrymple appointed David Rice to serve a two-year term on the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs. He will replace former ACOVA member Emery Fisher, who passed away in July.

Rice, Fargo, was nominated by the Veterans of Foreign Wars. During his first term, he will serve on one of the ACOVA’s three subcommittees to oversee the Post War Trust Fund, the North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs or veteran-related legislation.

Rice served in the United States Navy for four years. He is a former commander of the North Dakota American Legion and a member of the North Dakota Veterans Coordinating Council, Veterans of Foreign Wars, American Legion, AMVETS, Disabled American Veterans, Vietnam Veterans of America, Navy League and Fleet Week.

“Mr. Rice has been a valuable asset to the veterans in his local community, as well as throughout North Dakota, for many years. It is great that Gov. Dalrymple has recognized Dave’s abilities to serve our veterans on a state-wide level,” said Lonnie Wangen, North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs commissioner.

Rice also serves on the WDAY Honor Flight board of directors, USS Oklahoma City Association, Hope Lutheran Church, North Dakota State University Epsilon Sigma Phi and NDSU Association of Agricultural Extension Agents. 

The ACOVA serves the veterans of North Dakota by overseeing the North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs, the Veterans’ Home governing board, legislation related to veterans and the expenditures of the Post War Trust Fund interest earnings. The ACOVA consists of 15 voting members from the five major veteran service organizations in North Dakota: AMVETS, American Legion, Disabled American Veterans, Veterans of Foreign Wars and Vietnam Veterans of America. Every year, the governor appoints one member to represent each organization from a list of two nominations. Three nonvoting members advise the committee, including the adjutant general of the North Dakota National Guard, the director of the Fargo VA Health System and the executive director of Job Service North Dakota.

This year, Dalrymple also re-appointed Chairman Dean Overby, Wahpeton; Secretary James Verwey, Valley City; Jim Haukedahl, Fargo; and Trish Hodny, Grand Forks. Other members of the ACOVA include: Roy Fillion, Grand Forks; Bill Peschel, Wahpeton; Marlin Schneider, Bismarck; Hal Weninger, New Town; Richard Belling, West Fargo; Dave Hilleren, New Town; Myron Langehaug, Bottineau; Alan Wondrasek, Bottineau; Kenneth Hasby, New Town; and Marlys Morgenstern, New Salem.

The North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs (NDDVA) was established in 1945. The mission of the NDDVA is to assist veterans of North Dakota and their dependents in obtaining all benefits to which they are entitled, both federal and state, either by direct contact or through the assistance of County and Tribal Veterans Service Officers.


Kali Christianson/Public Relations Writer

(701) 239-7165


<< All News