<< All News Friday, July 22, 2016 Categories:

Fargo, N.D., July 22 – Gov. Dalrymple appointed one new member and re-appointed four members to the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs. Each member will serve a three-year term representing the veterans of North Dakota.


Dean Overby, Wahpeton, was re-appointed to his fifth term. James Verwey, Valley City, was re-appointed to his third term. Jim Haukedahl, Fargo, and Trish Hodny, Grand Forks, were both re-appointed to their second terms. Alan Wondrasek, Bottineau, was newly appointed to the board.


Dalrymple also re-appointed Overby as chairman, a position he has held since 2012. Verwey was appointed to his third term as secretary.


“As chairman, Mr. Overby has brought many new ideas and improvements to the ACOVA. His quality of leadership has created a very well-functioning and effective committee,” said Lonnie Wangen, commissioner of the North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs.


Members of the ACOVA serve the veterans of North Dakota by overseeing the North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs, the Veterans’ Home governing board, legislation related to veterans and the expenditures of the Post War Trust Fund interest earnings.


The ACOVA consists of 15 voting members from the five major veteran service organizations in North Dakota: AMVETS, American Legion, Disabled American Veterans, Veterans of Foreign Wars and Vietnam Veterans of America. Every year, the governor appoints one member to represent each organization from a list of two nominations. Three nonvoting members advise the committee, including the adjutant general of the North Dakota National Guard, the director of the Fargo VA Health System and the executive director of Job Service North Dakota.


Other members of the ACOVA include: Roy Fillion, Grand Forks; Bill Peschel, Wahpeton; Marlin Schneider, Bismarck; Hal Weninger, New Town; Richard Belling, West Fargo; Dave Hilleren, New Town; Myron Langehaug, Bottineau; Kenneth Hasby, New Town; and Marlys Morgenstern, New Salem.


The next ACOVA meeting will be July 28-29 at the Comfort Inn in Bismarck.


The North Dakota Department of Veterans Affairs (NDDVA) was established in 1945. The mission of the NDDVA is to assist veterans of North Dakota and their dependents in obtaining all benefits to which they are entitled, both federal and state, either by direct contact or through the assistance of County and Tribal Veterans Service Officers.

<< All News