<< All News Monday, September 9, 2019 Categories:

Governor Doug Burgum appointed Mark Wagemann to a three-year term on the Administrative Committee on Veterans Affairs (ACOVA). Mr. Wagemann resides in Fargo and is a member and past State Commander of the North Dakota AMVETS.

            Mr. Wagemann, a Navy Veteran, was nominated by the AMVETS for the Governor appointed position. While on the ACOVA he will serve on one of three subcommittees which serve the Veterans of North Dakota. The ACOVA is responsible for organization, policy, and general administration of all veterans’ affairs in the state of North Dakota. The ACOVA oversees the expenditures of the Post War Trust Fund interest earnings, legislative laws concerning veterans, ND Department of Veterans Affairs, and the Governing Board of the Veterans Home. The ACOVA is comprised of 15 voting members, each appointed by the Governor, nominated by the five major veteran organizations in the state. Each year, the Governor is to appoint one member from a list of two names submitted by the following veteran organizations: American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, Disabled American Veterans, AMVETS, and Vietnam Veterans of America. The Committee is also comprised of three nonvoting members who are to serve in an advisory capacity - the North Dakota Adjutant General, the Center Director of the Federal Veterans Affairs, and the Executive Director Job Service North Dakota.

The Governor also appointed Dan Brown of Williston and Glenn Wahus of Watford City. Members re-appointed were Dean Overby of Wahpeton and James Verwey of Valley City. Members currently serving on the ACOVA are; Richard Belling of West Fargo, Alan Fehr of Dickinson, Roy Fillion of Grand Forks, Dave Hilleren of New Town, Gary Maddock of Bismarck, Dave Rice of Fargo, Tom Ryan of Williston, Marlin Schneider of Bismarck, Murray Strom of Steele and Hal Weninger of New Town. The fifteen-member Committee will hold their next meeting August 8, 2019 in Steele.

Learn more about ACOVA


<< All News